cuba home > cuba destinations > sancti spiritus > trinidad > trinidad casa particular > casa rogelio ayala izguirre > reviews 2017

Cuba Junky Home

Casa Ayala | Trinidad | Cuba

reviews 2017

Photo Gallery Casa Ayala

Casa Rogelio Ayala Izaguirre (Colonial Siglo XVII)

Address: Calle Maceo #526, e/ Simon Bolivar y Piro Guinart, Trinidad, Cuba

Tel: +53 41 993832 \ +53 52489696

 

Reviews 2017 Casa Rogelio Ayala


Dec 27 2017

Name: Toon Verhoeven

Country: Netherlands

Casa Ayala

I stayed here at: 02/12/2017

How did you make the reservation?: The casa directly

How much did you pay per night?: 25 CUC

Me and my brother stayed 3 nights in Casa Ayala. We had an excellent stay. Trinidad is very nice and Casa Ayala is in the center of this city. The hosts were absolutely amazing. Full of kindness and taking care of us like real family. The breakfast was super. I would recommend this casa to everyone that travels to Trinidad!

How was your room?: Nice spacious room

How was the food they offer?: Super breakfast


Dec 29 2016
Name: chris
Country: canada
I stayed here at: 12/10/2016
I made a reservation through Homestay.com
I paid $53.62 CAD per night

Casa Ayala

My review: Casa Ayala is the perfect place to stay in Trinidad. The casa is a beautiful 250 year old home (where Ayala himself was born!). The location is perfect, a quiet side of a main street, 1 min walk to multiple bars and restrauntes, the cheaper TRD and other marcados, fun outdoor bars. Up the road to Plaza Mayor only 2 minutes, head on over to see live music all over central Trinidad. Ayala and his wife are very friendly and helpful during your arrival all the way through to your departure. They can help with organizing horse rides through the valley or scuba diving or anything else you are interested in. They even helped me phone our next place in Havana which was great. The terrace upstairs is a perfect place to relax - in between the events of your days in Trinidad. Highly recommended.
How was your room?: Perfect. large cool and interesting looking
How was the food they offer?: delicious. Best food in Cuba


Oct 9 2016
Name: Juan José Zabala Calderón
Country: Panama
I stayed here at: 09/21/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa Ayala

My review: Rogelio was an amazing host. Great place to spend the night.
How was your room?: Cozzy and comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: Great breakfast with scramble eggs, fruit and toasts.


Nov 15 2015
Name: Christina & Markus
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 10/21/2015
I did not make a reservation

Casa Ayala

My review: We had a really great time in Casa Ayala. The owners are very cordially and care for their guests. We spent four nights there and felt home. You can not find a better casa in Trinidad! Thank you for an amazing time familiy Ayala!
How was your room?: The room was pretty and clean.
How was the food they offer?: The food was delicious!!! We had fish and lobster, both with many sides and very tasty. It is impossible to manage to eat it all ;-)


Nov 10 2015
Name: Moniique et Emile SAGOT
Country: France
I stayed here at: 10/23/2015
I did not make a reservation, booking made via vacances transat

Casa AYALA

My review: La casa particular AYALA est une grande et belle maison typique de TRINIDAD ou le temps semble s'être arreté.
Les meubles d'époque qui nous accueillent, le patio fleuri, l'accueil chaleureux du maitre de maison nous ont tout de suite enchantés.
Rogello nous a laissé choisir notre chambre en nous faisant visiter la maison
Rogello et son épouse Pupe sont des hôtes attentifs et généreux qui pourront également vous régaler de repas copieux et succulents, sans parler des petits déjeuners merveilleux
How was your room?: La chambre ouvrait sur la patio était tres spacieuse, calme, climatisée et trés propre.
La salle de bains attenante claire, propre et spacieuse.

How was the food they offer?: Petits-dejeuners trés copieux et variés, servis par les deux petites fées de la maison , attentives et souriantes.
Repas délicieux avec une soupe incroyable, des hors d'oeuvre variés et une langouste énorme par personne.
Other services they offer: Le lavage du linge qui nous a bien rendu service au milieu de notre périple
Other comments: Nous recommandons vivement cette adresse qui a été le meilleur moment de notre séjour à Cuba.


Aug 25 2015
Name: Rhydian Lewis and Betsan Morgan
Country: Wales, UK
I stayed here at: 08/15/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 30 CUC per night

Hostal Ayala

My review: Ayala and his family made us feel at home at their casa. The Casa was very spacious and our room opened up to the lovely courtyard. The en suite bathroom with hot shower was clean. Ayala helped us arrange a horse riding trek to the nearby waterfalls which was a definite highlight of our trip to Cuba. We were fortunate enough to stay at many lovely Casas during our trip, but Hostal Ayala was undoubtedly our favourite!
How was your room?: Lovely, very spacious with a clean ensuite bathroom.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfasts each morning was plentiful to say the least! We were offered a wide variety of foods for breakfast including a large fresh fruit salad, bread, cheese, cakes, fresh mango juice, coffee, and eggs cooked to our preference. The food was incredible!! Many thanks!
Other services they offer: Laundry :)


Aug 12 2015
Name: Marie-Claude Gagnon
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 07/28/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly

Casa Ayala

My review: The house's wonderful colonial heritage, carefully preserved by the Ayala family, will make you travel back in time. Great location, close to shops and old city centre, also just one block from the collective cabs that will take you right to the beach. Many great restaurants and bars also at walking distance.
How was your room?: The room was large and very clean. The beds are also quite comfortable, plus you have access to a fridge (outside the room in the garden) if you want to stock up on cool drinks.
How was the food they offer?: Breakfast is delicious, fresh and plentiful: a whole pot of fresh pressed fruit juice, pots of coffee and warm milk, eggs or tortilla, homemade fruit spread and bread, bite-size pancakes, a huge plate of fresh fruit, cheese (sliced or cream), plus... dessert! We weren't hungry until dinnertime.
Other services they offer: One of the employees was nice enough to mend a seam of my bathing suit. She also offers laundry and pressing services.
Other comments: Hosts are most helpful, warm and very welcoming. I highly recommend a stay with Rogelio and Poupée, and plan to return as soon as I possibly can.


May 7 2015
Name: Aleksandra
Country: Poland
I stayed here at: 03/10/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 20 CUC per night

Casa Ayala Trinidad

My review: It's a great place to stay! The location is perfect, near the bus station and the main square. The hosts are very friendly.

How was your room?: The room is spacious and very comfortable and just outside the room there is a nice patio with a place to eat and two rocking chairs to relax after all-day sightseeing. In the morning you can spot hummingbirds right in front of your door :)

How was the food they offer?: The food was fresh, plentiful and really tasty.


April 4 2015
Name: Jaimie
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 03/28/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 20 CUC per night

Casa Ayala

My review: I had a lovely time staying in Casa Ayala with another couple who were traveling with me. The house is well located and is very beautiful. The rooms are quite big and have private bathrooms with hot water. There is an on site chef - Alexis, who also makes great dinners! The house is close to everything you'd want to see in Trinidad.

How was your room?: Very big, comfortable, with multiple beds and a private bathroom.

How was the food they offer?: Very good! The dinner was huge.

Other services they offer: laundry service


March 17 2015
Name: Sanne de Weijer
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 03/01/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 20 CUC per night excl breakfast

Casa Ayala Trinidad

My review: Older and friendly couple which owns the casa. The owner speaks english, his wife a little and both are very friendly and help full. They helped me to arrange an other casa for the days that I wanted to stay longer.
Lovely outside seating.

How was your room?: Clean, warm water but as the rest of Cuba don't expect the best mattresses.

How was the food they offer?: I had an extensive breakfast. Didn't have my dinner here but I probably should have.


March 4 2015
Name: AnaTK
Country: United Kingdom
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I stayed here at: 01/02/2015

Casa Rogelio Ayala

My review: Beautiful colonial house in Trinidad with very nice patio. Big rooms and quiet.
House located in town centre, very close to Plaza Mayor and also walking distance from Viazul bus station.
Nice big breakfast.
Rogelio's wife suggested places to eat and there are lots of nice restaurants in Trinidad, it's very lively city, very touristic, but still authentic! no doubt is worth visiting, fantastic location with the surrounding mountains and a few Km from the sea. Possible to cycle around and lots of places to rent bikes from (Rogelio can help with this).

How was your room?: Spacious and clean.

How was the food they offer?: Good big breakfast. Didn't have other meals in the house as we did like enjoying the city.

Other services they offer: Laundry. Suggested place to rent bikes from.

Other comments: They speak English


March 2 2015
Name: Steve Padgett
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 03/20/2014
I made a reservation through Cuba Direct (package)

Casa Ayala

My review: It is the first time we have stayed in a casa, and we were a little nervous, but we needn't have been. We were made to feel very welcome and it was obvious from the start that it was a lovely place to stay. Ayala, and all the staff at the casa were wonderful and very helpful.
The garden in the casa was particularly lovely and very relaxing - watch out for the visiting humming birds.

How was your room?: Basic but comfortable. Comfortable bed and good nights' sleep.

How was the food they offer?: Very good indeed. Breakfast in the garden was delightful. Lovely food in a wonderful setting. We had an evening meal made by Jose, a friend of the family and it was one of the best we had in Cuba.

Other services they offer: Ayala has lots to offer. He will give advice on anything if asked, from restaurant recommendations to where to go on days out or where to visit, where to change money, best places to buy gifts etc. All his advice was spot on.

Other comments: We would recommend Casa Ayala and would love to return in the future


Casa Ayala | Trinidad | Cuba Feb 28 2015
Name: Conny Dekker
Country: Netherlands
I stayed here at: 08/04/2014
I made a reservation through booking office in our country / Kuoni

Casa Ayala Trinidad

My review: We had a ver nice stay for 3 nights- very friendly andere helpfull owner and his wife.
The breakfast prepared by José was splendid
We really felt at home.
Rooms were very nice, we had one at the patio very quiet! Good airconditioning, nice bathroom.
Nice patio to sit in the evening of early morning.
Trinidad is a ver nice place to stay, visit the city and make a trip info topes collantes
We dan recommand this casa if you really want ho have the cuba feeling!!
nice greetings to José and the family Izaguirre :-)

Casa Ayala | Trinidad | Cuba

How was your room?: Very nice, clean , not so big but very quiet at the patio

How was the food they offer?: VERY nice, fresh fruit at breakfast, omelet. Very good dinner prepared by Jose, who makes you anything you want !
Also very good Mojito

Other services they offer: The lady also did our laundry

Casa Ayala | Trinidad | Cuba


Feb 28 2015
Name: Robert Strauss
Country: Spain

Casa Ayala

My review: My wife and and I stayed with Ayala and Pupe in early 1999 when our daughter was just two years old. She picked up a bug in Havana and was quite sick by the time we arrived in Trinidad. Ayala and Pupe took care of her (and us) as if we were family. We wound up having a wonderful stay with them and cannot recommend their place and they themselves highly enough.

You can read about our time in Trinidad at: http://www.sfgate.com/magazine/article/Cuba-Libre-3051230.php This story was recognized with a Lowell Thomas Gold Medal award in 2000.

How was your room?: Cozy.


Feb 28 2015
Name: Sabine
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 01/04/2014
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 25 CUC per night

Casa Ayala Trinidad

My review: Rogelio and his wife are very lovely persons! They help you with everything you need. The Casa is only 5 minutes away from the center. I would come again!

How was your room?: Clean, well furnished, cosy, modern, air conditioning, much space for 3 people and bagage

How was the food they offer?: Great breakfast with fresh fruit, cookies, bread, eggs, tea, coffee, ...

Other services they offer: Very helpful!!!


Feb 28 2015
Name: Marie-Theres Engelmayer
Country: Austria
I stayed here at: 02/07/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 25 CUC per night per room. We always ate breakfast (which is about 5 CUC) in the casa!

Casa Ayala

My review: This was the best casa I've been to in Cuba! The casa is located in the centre of the town, you can walk everywhere by foot. In this casa you get a really good feeling for the cuban way of life due to the hospitality of the owners.They are really great people! We arrived ealier than planned and they organised breakfast for us within minutes and we felt like in a dream in this marvellous court yard with exotic flowers everywhere. Our highlight was watching a hummingbird during our breakfast!I would have liked to stay longer.

How was your room?: Our room was excellent, it was clean and had its own bathroom with hot water 24 hours a day. The beds were comfortable and there were three ventilators in the room. I have to point out that the room was very quite although the casa is located in the city centre!It was just the perfect stay!


Feb 28 2015
Name: Miguel Alejandro
Country: Venezuela
I stayed here at: 01/14/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 25 CUC per night

Casa Ayala

My review: Me encantó el aspecto antiguo mezclado con el carisma actual de los dueños. Una atención excelente de parte de los dueños y la ciudad una belleza

How was your room?: La habitación perfecta, cómoda y atendida en gran parte por los dueños

How was the food they offer?: La comida deliciosa, entre mariscos y cranes rojas


Dec 17 2014
Name: Chris Watkeys
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 12/10/2014
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 25 CUC per night

Casa Rogelio Ayala

My review: This is a really lovely, charming, peaceful casa very near to the Viazul bus station. Rogelio and his wife are both very welcoming, genuine, lovely people.
There is a peaceful, charmingly furnished and sunny yard in which to eat the very good breakfasts and dinners they provide - the cook Juan is also very friendly.
You just get a really good 'vibe' from this place and its owners - highly recommended.

How was your room?: Clean, well furnished, interesting decor.

How was the food they offer?: Breakfast - big and very good indeed.
Dinner - cooked by chef Juan, several courses and very delicious.


June 3 2014
Your Name: Diana
Country: Netherlands
I stayed here at: 05/18/2014
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 25 cuc per night

Casa Ayala

Casa Ayala | Trinidad | Cuba My review: Love to come here again and again. It's a family making you feel at home and give all opportunities to laid back and relax. They take care of you when you need, or leave you alone when you wish. The roof terrace is new and just like the beautiful patio also a nice place to sit down.

The casa is just two blocks from the city centre, 5 minute walk. Within 1 minute you find taxi's at the corner to bring you to the beaches or wherever you need to go. Supermarket and bank is also 5-10 minute walking distance.

How was your room?: Enough space for two persons and two suitcases. Modern bathroom. Airconditioning. Quiet place in the backyard, away from street noise.

How was the food they offer?: Breakfast is good with fruits, eggs, bread, cookies, juice, coffee and tea.
Dinner is a lot! No matter what you choose, fish, chicken, lobster, meat, all is good.

Other services they offer: Always helpful when you need something, like arranging a trip or calling a next casa.

 

Casa specifics: English speaking, Quiet, Comfortable, Colonial, Romantic, Beautiful, Safe, Patio

Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower

  Reviews Casa Ayala 2012 and 2013
  Reviews Casa Ayala 2011
  Reviews Casa Ayala 2010 and older

 

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Add a casa particular

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058