cuba > cuba destinations > pinar del rio province > vinales > vinales casas > casa la cabana > reviews 2011

Cuba Junky Home

Cuba Casa Directory app

Reviews 2011 Casa La Cabana Vinales

CONTACT the CASA

Contact the casa particular directly and save yourself the commission other websites calculate within the price.
The Cuba Casa Directory is THE "Yellow Pages" app for casas particulares in Cuba!
Trough email, phone, Facebook, website ... all contact information I have is listed in the app

Download the app
for IOS and Android

Cuba Casa Directory app

 

 

 

WRITE A REVIEW

 

December 5 2011
Name: Michael Reilly
Country: West Hollywood, USA
I stayed here at: 11/22/2011

Casa La Cabana Obel y Yoly

My review: A friend and I just returned from a wonderful two-night stay at Obel and Yoly's casa. Our hosts spoiled us with the best food and mojitos we had during our one-week stay in Cuba. Obel is a master chef at a nearby hotel. His grilled lobster is to die for! Each morning for breakfast, Yoly served us perfectly-cooked scrambled eggs. The excursions provided by Diosnel, Yoly's brother-in-law, exceeded our expectations. His horseback riding tour through the Vinales valley is a must-do, as is the day trip to Cayo Jutias. Guests stay in a private cabana detached from the main house. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. Meals are served on the cabana's lovely porch. The home's rooftop, reached by a spiral staircase, is the perfect place to end a day with a mojito and panoramic views a! cross the valley. Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower

 

July 1 2011
Name: katrine
Country: denmark
I stayed here at: 6/21/2011

Casa la Cabana, Obel y Yoli

My review: when we first arrived everything was excellent. we had cocktails and really nice food prepared by the woman.

lots of other guests had recommended their brother in law Diosnel to do tours in english which were a tad cheaper than the offical ones which resulted in our curiosity to book 3 tours with him aswell.
the first tour around the valley with a horse carriage was good, unfortunately he was a very big disappointment after that as he didnt turn up the following days but sent his friend who doesnt speak a word of english and then his uncle who proceeded in getting us lost when we went up in the hills with him.
during the week we stupidly decided to buy some cigars off of him (after he had told us how good and honest a person he was - he had very good stories going et al) which we shouldnt have done as they first of all were fake and secondly couldnt be smoked which the casa owners were well aware of.

so all in all a good stay that ended in disappointment.

ps. the kids are very loud in the morning.

Casa specifics: Smelly, Charming, Safe, Garden, Children in the house, Pets in the house
Amenities: Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower

Reply Casa La Cabana:

" For us is very important our clients give their opinions about our home, no matter if is negative or positive, we really appreciate you take part of your time to write. This is the only way to improve our business, because then we can know which problems we have.
We always try our clients have a nice experience of our home, there are things that don't depend of us, regarding our brother in law we really sorry, we didn't know what happens, that's why we prefer don't recommend guides, we just leave it to the persons choose what they prefer based in other clients opinions written in our guest book, like you did. Any way we will advice future clients in case they want to go with him and we already spoke serious to him.
Regarding our girls that are very loud, we really sorry, but we will never do something regarding this and all the clients that book our home they know that they will stay in a cuban house with kids around and this is the first complain we received
We know everyone has a different way of think and we understand this. We are just answering you, and then you can see that we take care very serious our business.
If you decide to come again you will always be welcome

Kind Regards and thanks one more time for your opinion
Obel y Yoly
Casa la Cabana "

 


March 31 2011
Name: Wendy and Chris Whittaker
Country: England
I stayed here at: 03/07/2011

Casa La Cabana Obel y Yoli

Review

Wonderful hosts, area, food, casa. Loved it.

How was your room?: A lovely wood cabin in the garden of the family's home. Attractively furnished, clean with its own patio for meals and a roof terrace to enjoy a mojito as the vultures swoop overhead and you watch the sun go down
How was the food they offer?: Fantastic. Far too much as seems to be always the case. Really couldn't fault it
Other services they offer: Various connections. They organised a guide for local outings including an amazing 6 hour hike through the area.
Other comments: The little girl was taken poorly whilst we were there and had to go to hospital in Pinar del Rio. Obel and Yoli arranged everything to make sure we were completely taken care of whilst they were there (despite our objecting!). It is god o know that this famed health service really does exist. The little girl was fine the next day.
Couldn't have been more caring hosts


March 30 2011
Name: Melanie Maria Diaz Blanco
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 03/02/2011

Casa Ony y Luis (La Cabana)

Ony is a very silent woman, there's good food, her husband is a chef and worked in a hotel. It is clean and there is hot water. In principle, everything is ok, Ony has a very helpful sister with phone in Nevertheless, we have not become really warm up to Luis, who has assured us umpteen times every day with ELN Betonl that his house is our house ... There is clearly much too Scheme road to live in this village. We were looking forward to the turbulent Great on the quiet country life, then ultimately it was our loudest property because the neighbors of Ony and Luis on the TV all day run at full volume on , so get with grilling h or so;)
Lecker are always fresh fruit in the refrigerator.

Casa specifics: Comfortable, Pets in the house
Amenities: Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower


February 22 2011
Name: Heike
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 02/07/2011

Obel y Yoly Casa La Cabana

Excellent casa
We found the casa particular of Obel and Yoli highly recommendable. You stay in a separate small wooden house Cabana in the backyard of their home. The room is spacious, with separate bathroom and fridge. It is clean, calm and close to the center of Vinales. Obel and Yoli are very attentive, help you with eyerything, and Obel also speaks English. They prepare very good food, you should eat at their casa while staying there: the meals are simply delicious and the price is very moderate for the quality and quantity you get. Last not least, they offered us the best Mojito and Pina Colade we drank throughout our whole trip in Cuba.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Roomy, Garden
Amenities: Private entrance, Private bathroom, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service
How was your room?: Very nice
How was the food they offer?: Excellent


February 12 2011
Name: Esin
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 01/23/2010

Casa La Cabana Vinales

Staying at Casa La Cabana was one of the highlights of our trip to Cuba. Obel and Yoli are the loveliest people, warm and welcoming, they made us feel very much at home. They are also both excellent cooks. Obel is head chef at Hotel Ermita and he cooked us a wonderful Cuban meal the first night we got there, excellent bbq! We'd go as far as saying the food at Casa and Yoli is the best food in Cuba! We also tried their famous Pina Coladas and we highly recommend those too.
The room is clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. The views from the terrace are stunning.
We really had a great time and we highly recommend staying with this lovely family.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Charming, Safe, Children in the house, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower


February 11 2011
Name: Jim and Peggy
Country: USA
I stayed here at: 2/4/11

La Cabana

We wanted a casa that allowed us to mingle with a family and get to know the real Cuban people and we had the best. We were welcomed into their home and felt so at ease. We enjoyed the Children and felt a special connection to the entire family.. We would recommend this home to anyone but especially someone who wants to see the real Cuba.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Roomy, Beautiful, Safe, Garden, Children in the house, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Our room was comfortable and charming. They take great pride it this Cabana and it shows.. Very nice.
How was the food they offer?: Real Cuban food. Nothing was spared. Yoli fixed a chicken dish the first night and we told them to surprise us the second and they did with Lobster and rice... Wonderful our breakfast we good and filling.
Other services they offer: We wanted to become part of a family. We wanted to get to know Cubans and they were wonderful. the children were engageing and loving. it was such a joy to share with this family
Other comments: Vinales is a beautiful area. Lots of things to explore. Great for anyone who enjoys the outdoors and is not expecting a spa atmosphere or Night Clubbing. It is a quiet lovely place.


January 13 2011
Name: kylie
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 12/12/2011

Casa La Cabana Obel y Yoli

its true what the reviews say about this casa.. it is soooo great.
The food, the hospitality, the view and especially those famous pina coladas! Nothing like you have tasted before in your life!

I took my 4 yr old daughter and she had a ball with Obel y Yoli's children. It is a really safe and friendly place to stay and unwind. The electrics in the whole town can mean you get intermittent cool/cold and hot showers but this is a town issue.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Safe, Garden, Children in the house, Patio
Amenities: Private entrance, Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: room was more elegant than even the family room. Decorated nicely to make it appear very homely.
How was the food they offer?: Food was fantastic! obel is a wizz and Yoli and her family are so great.
Other services they offer: Help with finding tours (they know many people in the town)
Other comments: Beds are not that comfortable and check when you go for temperatures as you maybe better off taking a sleeping bag for extra warmth.


January 11 2011
Name: Michela Spiga
Country: Italy
I stayed here at: 12/19/2010

Casa La Cabana

We stayed at Casa La Cabana for 2 beautiful day. The house is comfortable and clean and the owners are kind and helpful. The house is situated in a quiet street of Vinales and has a fabulous view over the valley of Mogotes. I recommend the mojito by Yoli, with honey, it's great. But all the food prepared by Yoli is delicious, the lobster, bean soup, all the better!
It 's a good accommodation especially for families with children thanks to 3 beautiful daughters of Obel and Yoli, perfect playmate.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Beautiful, Children in the house


January 8 2011
Name: Jan
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 12/27/2010

Casa La Cabana Obel y Yoly

We highly recommend this casa for its cleanliness (including food preparation hygiene), hospitality and location. The owners, Obel and Yoly, are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home. Their extended family in a house nearby are also very friendly and hospitable.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Hidden gem, Roomy, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Garden, Patio
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower, Private parking
How was your room?: The spacious clean room and private bathroom are in a beautiful wood cabin separate from the house. Meals are served at your own table on the side porch of the cabin.
How was the food they offer?: As vegetarians we were in seventh heaven with Yoly's cooking. Each dinner for four days was completely different and featured five or six delicious dishes mostly based on vegetarian versions of traditional Cuban foods. We had soups, big salads, vegetable stews, rice, and beans served in different ways, various "viandas" like malanga, yucca, boniato, squash, etc., as well as large and varied fresh fruit plates, coffee, tea. For breakfast, lots of fresh fruit juices, fruit, great coffee and anything else you would like such as bread, omelets, etc.
Other services they offer: The hosts will find a guide to walk the valley with you or if you prefer, they will organize a tour on horseback. We had an excellent young guide, Miguel, with whom we spent at least half a day exploring by foot the wonderful valley with its mogotes and farms. The refrigerator in the cabin is stocked with drinks or you can order mojitos, coffee, etc.
Other comments: The views of the countryside, mountains, and sunset sitting on chairs on top of the house's roof (accessible by a spiral staircase) are wonderful. Located a five-minute walk from the centre of town, the Cabana offers a respite from traffic sounds.

 


 

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba Junky Gift Store
Cuba Casa Directory app

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Write a review
Add a casa particular

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058