cuba > cuba destinations > havana province > havana > havana casa particular > havana guanabo beach casas > casa maday simon > older reviews

Cuba Junky Home

Cuba Casa Directory app

Casa Maday Simon | Havana Guanabo | Cuba

Reviews 2010 - 2013

Casa Maday Simon | Guanabo | Havana | Cuba

Photo Gallery Casa Maday Simon

Address: Calles 468 #915, e/ 9na y 11na, Havana Guanabo, Playas del Este, Cuba

Tel: +53 7 7963955

Back to main page Casa Maday Simon

 

CONTACT the CASA

Contact the casa particular directly and save yourself the commission other websites calculate within the price.
The Cuba Casa Directory is THE "Yellow Pages" app for casas particulares in Cuba!
Trough email, phone, Facebook, website ... all contact information I have is listed in the app

Download the app
for IOS and Android

Cuba Casa Directory app

 

 

 

WRITE A REVIEW

 

Reviews Casa Maday Simon


Nov 24 2013
Name: Rima
Country: United States
I stayed here at: 11/15/2013

Casa Maday Simon

My review: Beautiful house. The pictures do not do it justice. The terrasse is amazing and very inviting. Maday is a great host, she is very friendly and accomodating. We booked 3 rooms for a total of 6 adults and 3 kids. We could not have asked for better. Recommended with 5 stars!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Children in the house
Amenities: Parking service, TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower


Jan 7 2013
Name: Amanda
Country: England
I stayed here at: 12/15/2012

Maday Simon

My review: I spent a week at Madays Casa with my partner and 2 children under 10.
Absolutely loved it. Maday is -as every other review states- a wonderful charming, and very friendly woman. She was so helpful and always available to help us with information / advice. We had a luggage problem as one of our luggage items didn't arrive from the UK and Maday rang the airline in Havana daily for us trying to locate our baggage - and lent us clothes!! Thank you Maday you really helped make our Cuban holiday so enjoyable. Hope so much to go back one day. This Casa was particularly good for a family as you can have the upstairs apartment to your self with a terrace over looking the sea- perfect! Guanabo is a relaxed friendly town which gave a flavour of Cuban life not particularly promoted for tourism. A short walk along the beach from town and the beaches are stunning and almost deserted when we visited.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Charming, Safe, Children in the house, Patio
Amenities: TV, Safety box, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Very clean
How was the food they offer?: Excellent


May 3 2012
Name: elisabetta
Country: switzerland
I stayed here at: 2/7/2012

CASA MADAY SIMON

My review: If you wish to be home in Cuba..that's the place to be!
Very nice and super clean rooms with sea view, from some of them. surrounded by trees, flowers and birds...
Maday is a very nice and kind person, wonderful cooker, always smiling and with plenty of tips, trying to make the best out of your stay. Not to forget Alfredo, the husband, and the rest of the family...just great!
Strongly recommended, particularly for women traveling alone (not my case but...). Good place to relax!
AGain, a very good place to stay!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: confortable and very clean
How was the food they offer?: healthy and very good tasting


July 2 2011
Name: Heidi Lautala
Country: Finland
I stayed here at: 4/6/2011

Casa Maday Simon

My review: This was lovely place! It was my first time visiting Cuba and it was so easy and comfortable start the trip from Casa Maday. She and her husband came to pick us up from the airport and they were so friendy and helpful and natural.

We stayed one week in their home, the room and the bathroom was clean and comfortable, meal were on time and delicious.

Senora Maday gave me so many helpful tips so it was easy and comfortable continue the trip from there.

I definitely recommend their casa +++++++++++++

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfortable, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Nice and comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: Very good! Me as a vegetarian, they didn't have any problem.


March 2 2011
Name: Francis Bolte
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 02/10/2011

Casa Maday Simon Guanabo

We loved Maday, her sister-in-law, her cooking. Yes it was a big place, actually a small apartement.
She is our friend now and we will go back again.
The beach is a little far since she is on top of a hill but you see the ocean.
She is extremely helpful and used to be a nurse in case you have a bobo.
The taxi only cost 1 CUC to go to the village
Francis and Jo-Anne

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Roomy, Romantic, Beautiful, Safe, Garden, Children in the house, Patio
Amenities: Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Great
How was the food they offer?: Very good
Other services they offer: Anything you want


February 17 2011
Name: Katherine and Rick Lomberg
Country: Scotland
I stayed here at: 2/04/2011

Casa Maday Simon

Very friendly welcome to this casa situated on the upstairs floor of the house. Very quiet and spotlessly clean. Stairs are quite steep and narrow but the casa is self contained with its own kitchen. Disadvantage is the single bathroom shared between the 2 bedrooms but Maday has plans to install a 2nd bathroom later in the year. Meals are served and are carried up to a table on the terrace. Views from the casa are lovely-onto the garden and then the bay. It is quite a steep hill to climb to return to the casa from the town or beach. Maday and her family are really friendly but speaking some Spanish definitely helps.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Charming, Safe, Garden, Patio
Amenities: Safety box, Airconditioning, Minibar, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Very clean-quiet. Bed comfortable
How was the food they offer?: Good food-not always very hot because of the distance it had to be carried. No fresh milk was available in Guanabo and variety of food was limited. Cooked ourselves one night-had difficulty buying what we wanted but Maday was really helpful getting some fresh vegetables for us.
Other services they offer: Maday willingly organised taxis for us and was very helpful telling us the best places to visit.


December 30 2010
Name: Anna Jeffries
Country: england
I stayed here at: 12/13/2010

Casa Maday Simon

Me and my boyfriend travelled to Cuba not really knowing what to expect. I have travelled to many places in the world and always try and book apartments rather than stay in hotels. All other holidays have been marred by some disaster or other apartments being double booked or horrible rooms in bad areas. So arriving late at night in the dark in a place we have never been to before was a daunting prospect!
How happy we were to be greeted with a big smiling face and then shown to our beautiful apartment. The whole stay was wonderful; Maday was so helpful nothing was too much trouble! The food was delicious and far outshone the other restaurants in the area and in Havana itself.
Getting the bus into town was an experience that you quickly get used to and is a cheap and easy way to get to and form the area.
I could go on an on forever but this holiday was truly spectacular and I would go again in a heartbeat. This website is not called Cuba Junky for no reason! I for one am hooked!

A big thanks to Pototo for all his help in advance and a huge thank you to the family who I am missing already x

Casa specifics: Cozy, Patio
Amenities: TV, Safety box, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower


December 7 2010
Name: Hannah Milsom
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 11/21/2010

Casa Maday Simon

We had a fantastic time staying at Casa Maday Simon! My husband and I took our 14 month-old son and they spoilt him rotten! They are fantastic hosts where nothing is too much trouble. We had a whole apartment to ourselves on the top floor with a terrace for dining and relaxing from which we could see the sea. The kitchen had a fridge, sink, hob and cooking utensils, however we enjoyed eating the food that Maday cooked, she even prepared typical Cuban toddler food! We had two air-conditioned rooms with double beds and our own private bathroom. The beach is walking distance and Havana is only a 25min drive. Strongly recommend this casa!

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Roomy, Safe, Children in the house, Pets in the house, Patio
Amenities: TV, Safety box, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower, Private parking
How was your room?: Both rooms had double beds, fans, air-conditioning, tvs, wardrobes and clean.
How was the food they offer?: The food was typical Cuban food, I would recommend the beef and lobster (both $10CUC). I always felt comfortable feeding it to my young son.
Other services they offer: Downstairs there was also a double or twin room with air-conditioning, ensuite and fridge. It leads onto the terrace downstairs where there is a dining area.

We parked our car inside the gates of the house and they kept an eye on it, making us feel secure.
Other comments: Maday also gave us advice on the best beach to visit and where and how to park in Havana which was very useful.

I would recommend learning some basic Spanish before visiting Cuba.


September 4 2010
Name: Elena Koetzle
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 07/31/2010

Casa Maday Simon

Very nice hosts. A private very nice apartement.
You will enjoy your stay....

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Charming, Safe
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Garden, Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: It is not a room.It is complete en Apartement below the hosts flat.
Complete privacy
!!!!!!!!!!!!
How was the food they offer?: delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


July 21 2010
Name RAUL LOMBO
Country SPAIN
I stayed here at 05/28/2010

CASA MADAY SIMON

I stayed there for 2 weeks, both Maday and Alfredo are really nice, you will really enjoy your stay at their house. They clean the house everyday, she cooks really good and offer more amenities than other houses in the city. It's located near the beaches. You can also find Alfredo in "la Cocinita", one of the bars of 5

Casa specifics Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Breakfast service, Dinner service
How was your room? Simple, clean and comfortable. Private entrance.
How was the food the offer? The food was excellent, although you can find really good prices down town.
Other comments Highly recommended house, together with Julio's one of the house to stay in Guanabo.


May 13 2010
Name: Shelley Taylor
Country: Canada
I stayed there at (date): February 1-4, 2010

Maday Simon

 
I loves Maday! She's so warm and helpful. The space we rented was clean and peaceful and the food was really good too. Maday offers a larger selection for supper than many other Casa's do and at reasonable prices. We loved sitting at the open air dining table looking down the road to the ocean. Guanabo is a very nice small town with almost no tourists, perfect for sitting by the ocean and reading or taking a swim.

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Cozy, Charming, Safe
Amenities: Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Garden, Ceiling fan
How was your room?: The room was simple and comfortable, cool and dark, perfect for peaceful sleeping.
How was the food the offer?: Very good, fresh and plentiful. Reasonably priced and a nice variety by Cuban standards.


January 29 2010
Name: Dina Ritter
Country: Germany
I stayed there at (date): December 2009

Casa Maday Simon 
 
We stayed 3 nights at Maday's casa particular and enjoyed it a lot. Maday and her husband Alfredo are really very friendly, helpful and very good cooks. The place is quiet with a big balcony in the upper floor where all meals are served.

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Safe
Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Balcony, Ceiling fan
How was your room?: The room was basic but clean. Bathroom and shower to be shared with the family (so clean too)
How was the food the offer?: Food was excellent. My boyfriend enjoyed seafood and fish a lot whereas they served me vegetarian food apart. Delicious with a lot of variety.
Other comments: I really enjoyed the talks with Maday's husband Alfredo who is suprisingly well educated (former Mathmatics professor) and interested in stories from abroad. He speaks Spanish, Maday also basic English.
Definitely a good choice to stay in Guanabo


January 23 2010
Name: Sujeevan Segaram
Country: Canada
I stayed there at (date): January 13 - 14, 2010

Casa Maday Simon
 
This is a very nice Casa.  The lady cooks as well some great meals.  Breakfast is about 4CUC and Lunch and dinner is about 8 or 9 CUC.  There are two rooms. The room is clean and the one I stayed in has a bathroom inside.  The only thing I didn't like is the rooster churping in the middle of the night and waking me up.

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Roomy, Safe
Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony
How was your room?: As long as you don't expect a hotel star looks and comfortness, you're ok.  For a Cuban house, this is a great place to stay.  I would recommend this place for a family.  If you're travelling single and you are a guy, don't bother to go here.  You will NOT be allowed to bring girls from Disco's.  The lady was very explicit about not bringing girls after 10pm.  As you know, discos open at 10pm.  So you figure it out.  But for a family or couples, this is a fantastic place to stay.  You should be able to speak a bit of Spanish as well as the host do not speak any English, other than maybe a couple of words.
How was the food the offer?: The food was excellent though costly maybe, especially for a lunch or dinner.  I've found eating out at a restaurant called, Picollo, was cheaper than Maday Simon's.  A large premium pizza with a drink cost me less than 8CUC at Picollo and typical lunch or dinner at Maday Simon would cost about 9 or 10 CUC
Other comments: Overall, great place for a family or couples to stay.  Not so great for solo travellers.  This is a family oriented place.


January 9 2010
Name: Julie Baxter
Country: UK
I stayed there at (date): Dec 2009

Casa Maday Simon

A very nice house.  The part which is rented out is a whole apartment on the first floor.  There are 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, an equipped kitchen and a living room with TV.  Outside a veranda and terrace.  You can eat inside or out.  A short walk from the beach.  Maday was lovely, very helpful and a good cook.  The family live upstairs.  The beach at Guanabo has a very 'Cuban' feel with hardly any other tourists.  It was a bit windy for 2 of our 4 days but it is easy to get the bus into Havana.  The 400 bus runs about every 15 mins and costs 0.40 CUC.  It is busy and you may have to stand.

Casa style: Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Roomy, Safe
Amenities: TV, Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony,
How was your room?: Very clean and comfortable.  Hanging space and drawers.
How was the food the offer?: Delicious and plentiful
Other services they offer: Very helpful advice.


Date: August 13 2009
Author: GH
Country: USA

Casa Maday Simon

If you plan to visit the Playa del Este area, this is the place to stay. Maday is one of the sweetest people you will ever meet. She is also a very good cook. She will put together a very nice spread for breakfast or lunch (cuc4) and a very delicious dinner (cuc8). She has two rooms that have air condition, refrigerator, warm shower, comfortable bed, and one room has a separate dining room, separate bathroom, and separate kitchen with stove, dishes and sink. Just a short walk from the beach and downtown Guanabo area. By far the best casa particular we have found to date in all of Cuba.

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba Junky Gift Store
Cuba Casa Directory app

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Write a review
Add a casa particular

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058